Meenakshi Narain to Chair Department of Physics

Meenakshi Narain

Brown University’s Dean of the Faculty Kevin McLaughlin announced that Meenakshi Narain would take over as Chair of the Department of Physics effective July 1, 2022. In his announcement, McLaughlin expressed sincere gratitude toward outgoing chair Gang Xiao for being a strong advocate for the department during his years as Chair.

Narain brings a wealth of administrative experience to the role, having served in numerous roles at Brown University, the Compact Muon Solenoid (CMS) experiment, the American Physical Society (APS) and elsewhere. She currently serves as Chair of the U.S. CMS Collaboration Board, a member of the APS Committee on Minorities in Physics, Co-convener of the Energy Frontier Snowmass Community Study, a member of the Department of Energy (DOE) and the National Science Foundation (NSF) High Energy Physics Advisory Panel, a member of the CMS Large Hadron Collider Physics Center (LPC) Management Board, Co-Chair of Brown’s Data Science Initiative Campus Advisory Board and a member of the Task Force on Brown University Women Faculty.